Morning Reflections 4: Fantasy and Freedom

Saturday, 10. September 2011
Concert No. 15, Kazina Hall at 11:00

Dejan Lazić – piano
Satu Vänskä – violin
Zen Hu - violin
Alexandre Razera - viola
Monika Leskovar - violoncello
Milena Lipovšek – flute
Diana Grubišić-Čiković - harp

Claude Debussy: Sonata for violin and piano in G Minor (1916-17)
Dmitri Shostakovich (arr. L. Atovmian): Five Peaces for Two Violins and Piano
Claude Debussy: Sonata for flute, viola and harp, L 137 (1915)
Jean Françaix: Quintet for flute, violin, viola, cello and harp (1934)
Dejan Lazić: Three Istrian Dances for violin and piano, Op. 15a (2005)
Dmitri Shostakovich: Sonata for Cello and Piano in D Minor, Op. 40 (1934)

With its heart-breaking opening chords The Violin Sonata by Claude Debussy immediately pulls the listener into an atmosphere of understated, even restrained but extremely deep emotions. Imbued with melancholy and nostalgia and yet full of humour and sweetness the last of Debussy’s compositions may well be seen as a ”shift in style” marking the birth of neo-classicism, but despite its leaner, simpler structures it still conveys that ultimate sense of boundless fantasy and freedom that make Debussy's work so unique.