The Year 1945

Thursday, 8. September 2011
Concert No. 12, Union Hall at 19:30
Festival Maribor Orchestra
Richard Tognetti – conductor, violin

Marija Skender - piano

John Cage: Sonatas and Interludes (selection)
Aaron Copland: Sonata for Violin and Piano (2nd Movement)
Pierre Boulez: Douze Notations pour Piano No. 10 (1945) and No. 12 (1945)
Iannis Xenakis: Voile (1995)
Anton von Webern: Two pieces (1899)
Anton von Webern: Five pieces for string orchestra, Op. 5
Richard Strauss: Metamorphosen-Study for 23 solo strings, Op.142, TrV 290, AV 142 (1945)

“Twentieth-century composers… a remarkable array of maverick personalities who resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with sweet sounds or battered them with dissonance, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art”.

Alex Ross, The Rest is Noise, Summary