Morning Reflections 3: The Universe Within

Thursday, 8. September 2011
Concert No. 11, Kazina Hall at 11:00

Dejan lazić – piano
Richard Tognetti – violin
Monika Leskovar - violoncello

Robert Schumann Waldszenen, Op. 82 (1848/9)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Cello Sonata No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 5 (1796)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Major, Op. 24 ´Spring Sonata’ (1801)

Just a few years prior to his tragic death in a mental asylum Schumann composed his last work for piano, Waldszenen, a cycle of nine pieces which captures the very essence of the Romantic view of nature as both an external and an internal ”universe”, mirroring the state of a human mind. Sublime, poetic, mysterious, and full of seemingly odd structural quirks it never fails to capture our hearts with it’s otherworldly, ominous beauty.