Grand Opening: The Dawn

Concert No. 1, Union Hall at 19:30

Festival Maribor Orchestra
Richard Tognetti – conductor, lead violin

Tôru Takemitsu: Nostalghia, for violin and string orchestra (1987)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 1 in C Major, Op. 21 (1801)
Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta for Orchestra, Op. 60 (1926)
Witold Lutoslawski: Livre pour Orchestre (1968)

With its simple melody, the solo violin of Takemitsu’s Nostalghia, dedicated to Andrei Tarkovski, perfectly captures the essence of Tarkovski’s art, evoking the images of long, slow moves of the camera gliding over tranquil waters and melancholic landscapes in a mist of an early dawn.

The dawn seems to be the key word for this concert program, as it continues with Beethoven’s First Symphony. Not only was it written at the dawn of the new century, but it also changed the very concept of symphonic genre which brought the dawn of the new symphonic era.

A beautiful dawn of this year's festival!